h1

50 Days

February 20, 2008

After a year of a terribly inconsistent zazen regimen (Regimen? Not the right word. “Routine,” perhaps?), one of my new year’s resolutions for 2008 was to sit at least 10 minutes every day, with the intention of gradually increasing to 20 minutes and then to twice a day (and eventually to 30 minute sessions). Well, I’m happy to report that a month-and-a-half in, I haven’t missed a day yet.

Even when I fall asleep on the couch and wake up at 2am, I sit for ten minutes before going to bed.

Even when I’m battling a nasty cold and can barely focus on the wall ahead, I sit.

Even when my zazen feels “bad” or I’m completely distracted, I sit.

There haven’t been any breakthroughs. But I’m not waiting for any. I’m just getting started in this practice and will see where it leads. With any luck, it’ll bring some insight, clarity, and ultimately improve how I deal with situations and with other people.

Leave a Reply

